Follow Us - Social Media


Municipal Contacts

Borough Office 610-863-4119
Manager 610-863-1822
Police 610-759-8517
Sewer 610-863-5422
Street 610-863-9605
Park 610-863-9249
Animal 484-894-3401
Zoning & Code 610-863-1821
Tax Collector 610-863-9487

Contact Form

Email Form

Fill the correct value*:
242+292 =

Pen Argyl Borough Monthly Minutes | Archive

Monday 13th of February 2023 - 2/13/2023 Special Meeting Minutes

            Pen Argyl Borough Council held their Special Meeting for February on Monday,

February 13, 2023 at 7:00 P. M. in the Lookout Fire Company’s Social Hall.


Pledge of Allegiance:                                                 

            Council President Joseph LeDonne opened the Council Meeting with the Pledge of Allegiance.

Roll Call:


Council Members present and responding to roll call: Joseph LeDonne, Stephanie Cooper, Tammy Kemp, Scott Brumbaugh, John Apgar, Charles Kandl Jr. and Josephine Hildabrant.  Council Member Janell Connolly was absent.

Also present were Mayor Stephen Male, Borough Manager Robin Zmoda, Borough Solicitor Peter Layman and Borough Secretary Juli Lemak.




The following people expressed their concerns about potential wetlands, the removal of many trees and potential traffic impact from the proposed development at 491 South Main Street: Jill Frawley, 30 Flory Avenue; Lisa Wood, 1118 Candlewood Drive, Plainfield Township; Millie Beahm, 6299 Hower Road, Plainfield Township, Norma Jean Koch, 409 Crestmont Street, Plainfield Township, and Gerald Lennon, 361 Crestmont Street, Plainfield Township.


Huratiak Homes LLC. Proposed Mixed-Use Land Development at 410 S Main Street:


Councilman Charles Kandl Jr. made a motion to grant a modification or waiver to Section(s) 93-15.D(22) and 93-17.C 31 of the SALDO to allow omission of the depiction of all trees greater than eight inch (8”) in caliper from the plans, as recommended by the Planning Commission on January 12, 2023, seconded by Councilwoman Stephanie Cooper.  Unanimous by roll call.


Councilman Charles Kandl Jr. made a motion to grant the modification or waiver to Section 93-27.B.(2)(b)(2) of the SALDO to allow trees greater than eight inches (8”) in caliper to be removed without replacement, except in those areas depicted in purple on Exhibit 2 of 2 of the  Developer’s overall demolition plan (excluding those areas depicted in purple along South Main Street) all trees five inches (5”) or more in caliper will be retained unless dead.  Any trees eight inches (8”) in caliper or more not currently dead which die prior to the end of a period of eighteen (18) months from the start of construction will be replaced with a tree of like kind or quality of two and a half inches (2.5”) in caliper, seconded by Councilman John Apgar.  Unanimous by roll call. 


Councilman John Apgar made a motion to set the tapping fees at one hundred twenty-five (125) equivalent dwelling units (EDU’s) pursuant to Chapter 87§15 of the Code of the Borough of Pen Argyl, seconded by Councilman Charles Kandl Jr.  Unanimous by roll call.


Huratiak Homes LLC. Proposed Mixed-Use Land Development at 410 S Main Street con’t:


Councilman Charles Kandl Jr. made a motion to adopt Resolution number 2023-04 granting conditional preliminary/final land development approval to Huratiak Homes LLC (with respect to Northampton County tax parcel E9-1-24) for preliminary/final land development plans entitled “Huratiak Homes LLC Proposed mixed use”, with the required EDU’s of one hundred twenty-five (125),  to include the addendum of condition number eleven (11), as initialed by developer Justin Huratiak and Council President Joseph LeDonne, “developer to give Borough one hundred twenty (120) days’ notice of construction crossing the existing VCP sanitary sewer pipe mentioned in comments of Colliers Engineering & Design letter of December 9, 2022 to give the  Borough opportunity to replace the VCP at Borough’s expense”, seconded by Councilman John Apgar.  Voting in favor of the motion were Council Members Joseph LeDonne, Tammy Kemp, Scott Brumbaugh, Charles Kandl Jr., Stephanie Cooper and John Apgar.  Voting no was Councilwoman Josephine Hildabrant.  There being six (6) yes votes and one (1) no vote, the motion passed.




Councilwoman Tammy Kemp made a motion to adjourn, seconded by Councilwoman Scott Brumbaugh.  Unanimous by voice vote.  Council meeting adjourned at 10:15 P.M.


                                                                                    Respectfully Submitted,


                                                                                    Juli Lemak

                                                                                    Borough Secretary


                                    Workshop – Tuesday, February 28th - 7:00 P. M.

                    Regular Council Meeting – Tuesday, March 7th - 7:00 P. M.